Ring In The New!

Posted by on Jan 2, 2015 in Calf Chronicles

From All of us at The Fatted Calf, we wish you a happy, healthy and delicious 2015!

Start Your New Year Right
If your New Year’s resolution involves eating more veggies, Fatted Calf is here to help. Beginning in January, Fatted Calf in Napa will begin hosting Riverdog Farm’s weekly CSA delivery. For just $20 a week you get a big box of organic,seasonal, local farm fresh veggies. Now you can have your kale and eat your bacon, too! Visit http://riverdogfarm.com/form.php to sign up today.

Try Something Newimage003
image001
Join us at The Fatted Calf in San Francisco on Friday, January 9 from 12pm until 2pm or at The Fatted Calf in Napa on Saturday, January 10 from 11 am until 1pm when we’ll be hosting 2 amazing food artisans from Italy. Nomadic beekeeper Andrea Paternosta of Mieli Thun honey located in the Italian Alps will be sampling some of his unique raw honeys made from dandelion, carrot and coriander. You’ll also get to meet Andrea Bezzecchi of Acetaia San Giacomo, artisinal vinegar producer and VP of the Balsamic Consortio in Reggio Emilia and have an opportunity to taste some of his traditional vinegars

New Classes Added For 2015
All classes are from 11 am until 3pm. The cost of the class is $200 and includes a morning snack, lunch and a bag of meaty goodies you helped to prepare. To reserve, e-mail us at contact@fattedcalf.com with your full name and telephone number.

Whole Hog Butchery
Saturday, January 24 CLASS FULL
Saturday, March 14 CLASS FULL
Saturday, April 18
Saturday, May,16
In this hands-on class you’ll learn how to break down a whole hog into its various useful parts, cut chops, tie roasts and prepare porchetta

Salumi!
Saturday, January 10 CLASS FULL
Saturday, March 7 CLASS FULL
Saturday, April 25
Saturday, June 6
If you dream of a secret underground lair strung with lengths of drying salami join us for Salumi! Learn the basics of curing whole muscles, cooked and air-dried salami.

Truffles
Saturday, January 17
January is the peak of black truffle season. Spend a decadent day immersed in the fragrance of black truffle. Learn to prepare black truffle sausage, crema di lardo with truffle, and other truffled treats.

Pig, Woman, Knife
Saturday, February 14
Saturday, June 20
Hey ladies! Grab your cleaver and boning knife and join your sisters in a hog butchering class taught by women for women. Learn to break down a whole hog into its primal parts, prepare roasts and other porcine delights

Sausage 101
Saturday, February 7 CLASS FULL
Saturday, June 13
Linked, coiled, emulsified and smoked. Whether you are a beginner or a sausage enthusiast yearning to expand your knowledge Sausage 101 will cover a variety of grinding, casing and cooking methods to make you more sausage savvy.

All About Duck
Saturday, February 21
Saturday, May 30
Flap your wings and say yeah! All about duck covers the basics of duck butchering and charcuterie. You’ll learn how to bone and stuff a duck, make duck confit and prepare other delectable duck dishes.

Whole Lamb Butchery
Saturday, March 21
Saturday, May 9
In this hands on class you’ll learn to break down a whole local lamb into primal parts, prepare roasts, cut chops and make other delicious lamb preparations.

Pâtés & Terrines
Saturday, April 11
Patés and terrines are a quintessential part of the charcutier’s repertoire. Learn to prepare these savory and addictive meaty goods that run the gamut from the haute and the elegant to the rustic and everyday.